Temporary Restricted License (TRL)/Work or School Permit Rules
(This is a summary, not legal advice, and is not all-inclusive of every situation. Typically these rules are different if there is an accident or personal injury involved. Consult a lawyer regarding your specific situation.)
Usually, you will be required to pay a $200 civil penalty to the Iowa Department of Transportation (IDOT) and obtain an SR-22 insurance certificate.
OWI -1st offense
Consent to test – immediate eligibility for TRL.
Refuse implied consent test (i.e. datamaster breath test) – 90 days ineligibility for TRL.
Implied Consent test over .08 but below .10 – immediate eligibility for TRL and no ignition interlock required.
Test of .10 – .15 – immediate eligibility, but will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed.
Over .15 – 30 days ineligibility and ignition interlock required.
Accident of any kind – 30 days ineligibility.
Under age 21 – 60 days ineligibility.
OWI – 2nd Offense or 2nd revocation
Refuse test – 90 days ineligibility to obtain TRL. Ignition interlock device required.
Consent to test – 45 days ineligibility. Ignition interlock device required.
OWI – 3rd offense or 3rd revocation
Refuse test – 90 days ineligibility for TRL. Ignition interlock device required.
Consent – 45 days ineligibility. Ignition interlock device required.
However, if you are convicted of third offense OWI, then you will be revoked for 6 years and there is 1 year of ineligibility for a TRL. Ignition interlock device required.
Obtaining Your Full License Again After Revocation is Over
To obtain your regular license back after the revocation period has expired, you will need to obtain a substance abuse evaluation, complete a 12-hour drinking drivers’ class (unless you attended a 48-hour OWI weekend program), pay the $200 civil penalty (if you have not done so already) and maintain SR-22 insurance. Do not drive unless and until you have obtained a new license from the Department of Transportation (IDOT).
Even after you obtain your regular license, you will be on 1 year of additional probation with the IDOT, so one moving violation can cause the suspension of your license for a like period of time.
Under Iowa Code section 321J.17(3), if it is a second or subsequent revocation, you will need to install an ignition interlock device for one year, though you will get credit for any time you had the ignition interlock device for a work permit/temporary restricted license: “The department shall also require certification of installation of an ignition interlock device of a type approved by the commissioner of public safety on all motor vehicles owned or operated by any person seeking reinstatement following a second or subsequent revocation under section 321J.4, 321J.9, or 321J.12. The requirement for the installation of an approved ignition interlock device shall be for one year from the date of reinstatement unless a longer time period is required by statute. The one-year period a person is required to maintain an ignition interlock device under this subsection shall be reduced by any period of time the person held a valid temporary restricted license during the period of the revocation for the occurrence from which the arrest arose. The person shall not operate any motor vehicle which is not equipped with an approved ignition interlock device during the period in which an ignition interlock device must be maintained, and the department shall not grant reinstatement unless the person certifies installation of an ignition interlock device as required in this subsection.”
Adam Pollack, Cedar Rapids and Iowa City attorney.